*

Offline Parsifal

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4366
  • Head Arthologist
    • View Profile
Scheduled maintenance, 2016-09-03
« on: August 28, 2016, 08:47:14 AM »
The homepage, forum, wiki and IRC will be going offline for about an hour on 2016-09-03, between 07:00 and 09:00 UTC.

For convenience, this means:

EDT (USA east coast):
2016-09-03, 03:00-05:00

BST (UK):
2016-09-03, 08:00-10:00

AEST (Australia east coast):
2016-09-03, 17:00-19:00


The server will be upgraded to a newer stable release of its operating system. This introduces the risk that problems will arise after the maintenance; in case any are noted, please create a thread in Suggestions & Concerns so that we can deal with it. Thank you.
Many consider these extraneous classes an important part of a well-rounded classical education.

*

Offline Parsifal

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4366
  • Head Arthologist
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled maintenance, 2016-09-03
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2016, 09:05:04 AM »
There were some complications (mainly involving systemd and GRUB) which caused the work to take longer than anticipated. Thanks for your patience.

I still have some things to check on and clean up, but the part of the work that involves the site being offline is complete. Let me know if you notice anything not working as it should be.
Many consider these extraneous classes an important part of a well-rounded classical education.

*

Offline Parsifal

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4366
  • Head Arthologist
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled maintenance, 2016-09-03
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2016, 09:50:34 AM »
The wiki was broken for a while because the version of MediaWiki we were using was not compatible with the new version of PHP. I have just updated MediaWiki, and the wiki is back online.
Many consider these extraneous classes an important part of a well-rounded classical education.