*

Offline Parsifal

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4122
    • View Profile
Scheduled maintenance, 2016-07-23
« on: July 19, 2016, 12:25:08 AM »
The homepage, forum, wiki and IRC will be going offline for about an hour on 2016-07-23, between 04:00 and 06:00 UTC.

For convenience, this means:

EDT (USA east coast):
2016-07-23, 00:00-02:00

BST (UK):
2016-07-23, 05:00-07:00

AEST (Australia east coast):
2016-07-23, 14:00-16:00


During this time, the server which hosts the homepage, forum, wiki and IRC will be migrated from Linode's aging Xen platform to the more modern KVM platform. This downtime would be required regardless due to maintenance on the Xen platform; we are proactively upgrading instead to avoid future downtime.

At the same time, security updates will be installed on the server. These will be non-disruptive to functionality, as the server is running a stable OS release that gets critical fixes only.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2016, 11:58:48 AM by Parsifal »
There is free speech and there is being an annoying twat. This user is exercising his right to the latter.

*

Offline Parsifal

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4122
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled maintenance, 2016-07-23
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2016, 11:59:33 AM »
This maintenance has been rescheduled for earlier in the day, and extended to a 2-hour window. The OP has been updated with new information.
There is free speech and there is being an annoying twat. This user is exercising his right to the latter.

*

Offline Parsifal

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4122
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled maintenance, 2016-07-23
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2016, 05:18:56 AM »
Maintenance complete (and successful). We are now running on KVM. Thanks for your patience.
There is free speech and there is being an annoying twat. This user is exercising his right to the latter.