Yaakov ben Avraham

Erich von Daniken
« on: December 15, 2013, 11:35:11 PM »
Just a curious question. I am reading a few of Erich von Daniken's books. For those who don't know, von Daniken is a Swiss, originally a hotelier by profession, whose claim to fame is his amateur archaeological work, & the subsequent 30-40 books he has written. In these, the 1st being 'Chariots of the Gods' in '68, he proposes to have evidence that 'earth has been visited repeatedly by advanced aliens from other worlds.' (from the blurb of 'CotG'). Athough his theories are rejected by mainstream scientists, he has become a gadfly to archaeologists & a very wealthy man by virtue of his books. I was curious to see if any of you had read his stuff, & if so, what you thought. Do let me know.

Saddam Hussein

Re: Erich von Daniken
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2013, 04:55:47 AM »
I haven't read any of his works myself, but I recall with some amusement John Davis talking about them and how you had to read between the lines or something to get the full experience.

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2013, 05:00:56 AM »
Just watch Ancient Aliens on the History Channel and you will get a good idea of what he believes.

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2013, 05:18:45 AM »
Yeah, Ancient Aliens is really out there.  Half of it is plausible to me, but the other half is just reading way too much into things to me.
I don't even care to find out what you're doing wrong, but I'm sure you're doing something wrong.

Offline jroa

• Kentucky Gentleman
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2013, 08:21:08 AM »
Ancient Aliens is the worst show ever.  Half of it is pure lies.  The other half is mistaken information.  They make their money by idiots not knowing which information are lies and which is them just being dumb. 

« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2013, 08:57:54 AM »
W. Raymond Drake, one of the very best authors on ancient technology:

http://www.amazon.com/W.-Raymond-Drake/e/B001H6J32M