I Can Prove Earth Curvature
« on: November 13, 2021, 05:03:46 AM »
 Anytime, anywhere, you name the place and I can bring equipment and prove it to you in person.

I am a land surveyor, and this is how I can prove the curvature of the earth:

1. Use differential leveling to determine the difference in elevation between two intervisible points at least 1 mile apart. This involves setting up a level, an instrument consisting of a magnifying scope set up with a prism hanging by threads within the shaft, which insures that the line of sight is perfectly parallel with the horizon at that point.

Then using a sort of leapfrog method, setting up the instrument between the interim points, the elevation of the line of sight of the instrument is kept track of as the elevation is "transferred" between points taking readings on a graduated rod set on top of each point, then by the last measurent on the final point you will know the difference in elevation.

2. Then measure the elevation difference again by taking a single measurement between the points, using a theodolite to measure the vertical angle between the straight line linking them and the direction of "down" (the direction of a string with a plumb Bob hanging on it), and a laser distance measurer for the straight-line distance between them.

If FE is correct, then the elevation difference is: ∆h=Dcos(A), where ∆h is the elevation difference, A is the angle between the measurement line and "down", and D is the measured distance between the two points.

The elevation using the spriti level will be accurate, because a spirit level can only take the measurement in  400'+/- segments and the incremental method of the level means that the slight changes in the direction of "down" at each of the increments of the measurement keep the measurement correctly related to gravity.