Offline Jane

• View Profile
Size of the Inner Hemiplane
« on: March 20, 2015, 06:22:39 PM »
Hi! First post on this particular branch of the site, though I've been hanging around the sister site for a while longer. This seems to be the place to come for actual answers.

Or Southern Hemiplane, depending where you put the centre at. Whichever way, on a Flat Earth it would be a circle with a circumference at, for example, the equator. Under regular FET, it's just part of a larger disk, but it's still a circle.
Of course, it doesn't need to be an exact circle, but a circle's the best-case scenario.

Now we get onto maths. I'm studying it, and there's something known as the 'Isoperimetric Inequality'. I can give you a proof of that if you really want, but it's fairly long, and pretty advanced: unless every mathematician is knowingly in on the conspiracy, however, it should be worth noting it has been around since the 19th century (rigorously proven), and known generally for much longer. You're more than welcome to look it up, there are several proofs online.
Essentially, it's a relationship between the boundary of a shape, and its volume: but we only need to worry about the two-dimensional case. That is, with a flat shape, with perimeter, and area.
The inequality provides a bound: the area of a shape can be no larger than a certain function of area. The inequality is:

L2 >= 4pi*A

Where L is the length of the perimeter, A is the area. Equality holds only with a circle: what this means is, as we know the length of the equator, we can calculate the largest possible size of the hemiplane contained within it on a flat Earth. Strictly speaking we just need to calculate the area of a circle with that circumference, but it's nicer to use the inequality form as it shows explicitly we're concerned with an upper bound.
The equator has length of approximately 40,000km. Plug that into the inequality, we find:

A <= 127323954.5km2

Or around 0.13 billion (the American kind).