Solar Eclipse
« on: November 21, 2017, 04:45:44 PM »
Calling all Flat Earth experts. I am new to this whole FE thing so I just have one question that I can't seem to find an answer to. This summer I was lucky enough to be able to view totality of the Great American Eclipse. The only thing I can't figure out is if in the FEM the moon can not come in between the earth and the sun, what was covering up the sun? Is it the same shadow object that causes lunar eclipses? I'm just curious.

Re: Solar Eclipse
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2017, 05:23:39 PM »
Calling all Flat Earth experts. I am new to this whole FE thing so I just have one question that I can't seem to find an answer to. This summer I was lucky enough to be able to view totality of the Great American Eclipse. The only thing I can't figure out is if in the FEM the moon can not come in between the earth and the sun, what was covering up the sun? Is it the same shadow object that causes lunar eclipses? I'm just curious.
You won't find much traction here for anything other than the moon causing the Solar Eclipse. The moon phases are generally regarded as happening because of the moon bobbing up and down in it's orbit. Thus at the time of the solar eclipse (new moon phase) the moon is at it's lowest and can easily pass between the sun and the Earth below. I've only seen one other FE hypothesizer express the idea there was a shadow object at work with a solar eclipse, and the idea was largely rejected by the rest of the FE community.

Offline mtnman

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2017, 05:32:43 PM »
The totality was an awesome experience wasn't it!

In general I think we allow the FE faithful to answer these questions, but it seems that frequently they don't, which makes me wonder about the purpose of this site.