Non-believer. Open-minded. Just need help to understand.
« on: February 19, 2019, 10:31:57 AM »
Hi guys,

I am new to the flat-earth theory, and try as I might, I can't wrap my head around some things.

Is everything in the sky flat? The moon, sun, and planets? Or is it just us?  How does the sun and moon get from the point in the sky where we last saw it, back to where we first saw it again?  My thinking is that something as bright as the sun would be visible 24/7, unless it is orbiting us (or us orbiting it, as I believe it does)?

If everything in the sky is also flat, why does everything appear to be perfectly round?  Does everything in the sky point their flat surfaces directly at us? Why don't we ever see ellipses, or even flat lines in the sky?  I have owned a telescope, and viewed many objects in the sky, and everything is round.

What are the moon phases? Why does the moon appear as a crescent in perfectly predictable cycles?  I am having trouble trying to work out why I've never seen a straight line in the sky? This isn't NASA telling me this, but rather things I have observed with my own eyes.

If we were able to dig straight down far enough, where would it lead us?  What is on the bottom of our earth?  My army buddy spent time in Antarctica, at Casey station; he never told me of a giant wall of ice.

I have so many questions, and as someone who believes whole-heartedly that the governments and elite institutions of the world are well and truly involved in cover-ups and conspiracies, I am willing to believe in this too, should the evidence be compelling enough.  I don't, for instance, believe we have been to the moon; I believe this is a cold-war conspiracy.  I need to address my lack of understanding before I can accept this theory.  I will be honest and tell you I think flat-earthers are crazy, but I have been wrong about things I believed in the past, and can accept I may be wrong now. I just need something to make my brain understand.