Offline Inka

• View Profile
11 hr direct flight from Auckland to buenos aires
« on: March 03, 2016, 11:42:42 PM »
Hi,

I just found a direct flight from Auckland to buenos aires which takes 11 hours. It's with New Zealand air flight no anz30. Looking at the flat earth map the distance between NZ and South America is huge, i am no expert but I don't think the plane would cover the distance in 11 hours only and without anyone noticing the flight path. What are your thoughts?

Re: 11 hr direct flight from Auckland to buenos aires
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2016, 12:30:04 AM »
Hi,

I just found a direct flight from Auckland to buenos aires which takes 11 hours. It's with New Zealand air flight no anz30. Looking at the flat earth map the distance between NZ and South America is huge, i am no expert but I don't think the plane would cover the distance in 11 hours only and without anyone noticing the flight path. What are your thoughts?

Can I get a link to the flat earth map?

Does this flight go south over antartica or west?

Offline rabinoz

• Just look South at the Stars
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2016, 02:27:46 AM »
Hi,

I have not prepared maps for this route, I did not know it existed till just now. The next flight Auckland to Buenos Aries  (flight ANZ30) is:
Departs Auckland, Friday, 4 March, 7:20 pm, this is 6:20 am Friday, UTC.
Arrives Buenos Aires, Friday, 4 March, 3:00 pm, this is 6:00 pm Thursday, UTC.
These times give a gate to gate time of 11 hrs 40 min - west to east has favourable winds.
Note that the return flight takes 13 hrs 31 min - winds wrong way.

I do have maps for the Sydney to Santiago route, which is just a little longer. These flights do not go very close to Antarctica.

Below are the shortest distance routes from Sydney(Australia) to Santiago (Chile) on the Gleason's Map[1] and on Google Earth (for the Globe).