Intelectual curiosity
« on: July 10, 2017, 02:21:47 PM »
Hello,

I'm a young engineer, due to my education I'm fairly well versed in sciences and the "traditional" theories. To be honest I'm a RE believer. Note that I said "believer", I recognize that even if I have a good understanding of the theories I think are true there is still a part of belief.

To make my point clearer :
Usually in math proofs you agree that your starting statement is true and then go on to prove your conclusion. Example : I agree that 1+1 = 2 and 1 + 1 + 1 = 3 then I conclude that 1 + 2 = 3.
I believed that 1 + 1 = 2 and 1 + 1 + 1 = 3 was true and assuming that I proved that 1 + 2 = 3.

What's nice about it is that you can use non-true/imaginary starting assumptions and create a new "math theory" still using perfectly logical thinking. Your conclusions are true assuming that your starting statement is true. Example : If we assume parallels can cross we can create elliptical and hyperbolic geometry where new theorems are true. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallel_postulate

As Tesla would say modern science is more about theory than experimenting.

I think that that's where FE and RE differ. FE believe the earth to be flat because of experimental evidence whereas RE base their belief on theory crafted evidence.

So rather than pushing my beliefs on you I'm more interested in understanding how FE is proven. I tried to find an example that wasn't too much theory (still a bit of math and physics involved) and as experimental as possible.

So here is an experimental proof of earth's rotation : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foucault_pendulum
How does it fit in FE theory ?

On a side note I truly respect the ingenuity of certain FE models that are very smart but I have to say thinking that NASA is lying to us to steal our money is just ridiculous.