Offline PaulW

• View Profile
Questions from a skeptical scientist
« on: September 10, 2014, 01:16:53 PM »
Hello everybody  :D ,

Let me introduce myself. I am a french student living in Paris (I apologize for my english) and I have been studying maths for 5 years.
Some friends of mine told me about the FE theory and this site, and I think it is very intresting to see how people can have such different points of view.  I read a lot of things on the subject, and I would like to understand the logic behind this theory, and not only from the scientist perspective.

The main question is : why?

Why do you think we've been told this gigantic lie for hundreds of years ? I can see that it is related to the cold war at some point (from what I read at least), but RE theory existed way before (ex : Galileo), ... So, why do some people wanted us to beleive that the earth was round? What was the point?
Moreover, 100% of the greatest minds in the history beleived and prooved that the Earth is actually round. And we can not say that they are all corrupted since many of them are also well known because they took position against their (or any) government/army/etc. (ex : Einstein and the nuclear weapon, Henri Poincarré and the Dreyfus affair etc.). Or maybe are they just ALL wrong? Seems kind of hard to admit... But even if it is what FE theorists think, they must be able to prove it.

So, in concrete terms, what are the evidences that we have been told a lie for centuries, and what for? What is that all about? Does it have any sense or anything? I cannot even imagine the number of person that have to be corrupted in order to make people think that way, it seems really unlikely. But can you give me references of serious books or papers, with valid evidence that pretty much every one is lying?

Why this massive indoctrination anyway? I mean, I get when our governments lie to us when they play deeper games, but in this case, what is the point?

This was my first question.