Ghost of V

looking for a new wireless router
« on: June 30, 2014, 12:55:08 AM »
I'm looking to replace my old wireless router with something a bit more high-tech. I'm looking for high speeds and good range, and I'm not really experienced with finding a good router for a good price. My internet speed is supposedly 50-70mbps so I'll need something that can take full advantage of that. I'm willing to spend up to $100 and I've already looked around a bit but everything seems a bit more expensive than I had hoped.

Anyone have any suggestions? I'd appreciate it.

Offline Lord Dave

• Grumpy old man.
    • View Profile
Re: looking for a new wireless router
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2014, 01:08:55 AM »
I've got a linksys EA3500

It's got gigabit ports, guest login, and the signal seems good.  I can reach it from about 50 feet outside my front door, though two walls(one is brick) and a floor.

I've got it mounted to my wall with double sided tape.  I love it.
If you are going to DebOOonK an expert then you have to at least provide a source with credentials of equal or greater relevance. Even then, it merely shows that some experts disagree with each other.

Ghost of V

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2014, 01:24:46 AM »
That seems really reliable. Pretty good speed too. You say the signal goes up to 50feet? Have you had experience with many people streaming things at the same time? Any hiccups or connection issues?

Offline Lord Dave

• Grumpy old man.
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2014, 02:40:21 AM »
That seems really reliable. Pretty good speed too. You say the signal goes up to 50feet? Have you had experience with many people streaming things at the same time? Any hiccups or connection issues?
I did not say "up to 50ft." I said "50ft past my front door", which is probably a good 30-40 ft from where it's at: On the second floor.

It's got damn good signal.