Mitchell45

Airspeed
« on: June 09, 2017, 10:43:05 PM »
I am flat earther, though there is one thing I can't understand. Why is airspeed different than landspeed? As a pilot I can't understand this.

Offline markjo

• Zetetic Council runner-up
    • View Profile
Re: Airspeed
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2017, 02:20:00 AM »
How could you possibly become a pilot without understanding the difference? ???
Abandon hope all ye who press enter here.

Science is what happens when preconception meets verification.

Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge. -- Charles Darwin

If you can't demonstrate it, then you shouldn't believe it.

Mitchell45

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2017, 03:33:49 AM »
I know the difference I just don't see how it would be possible on the FE model.

Offline markjo

• Zetetic Council runner-up
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2017, 01:53:35 AM »
Why should it be any different?  ???
Abandon hope all ye who press enter here.

Science is what happens when preconception meets verification.

Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge. -- Charles Darwin

If you can't demonstrate it, then you shouldn't believe it.

Offline TomInAustin

• Round Duh
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2017, 06:41:03 PM »
I am flat earther, though there is one thing I can't understand. Why is airspeed different than landspeed? As a pilot I can't understand this.

You can't be a pilot if you don't know the difference.  You should have grasped the concept in the first hour of ground school.  Even if the earth was flat there is still air and wind.
Do you have a citation for this sweeping generalisation?

Offline 3DGeek

• Path of photon from sun location to eye at sunset?
    • View Profile
    • What path do the photons take from the physical location of the sun to my eye at sunset
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2017, 01:50:40 PM »
Airspeed is speed relative to the air.